Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Blog Tour: The Dragon's Gate by Barry Wolverton with Giveaway!


Synopsis


An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton’s Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be the key to an even greater mystery—this is the treasure Bren and Mouse have found buried on the Vanishing Island.

Mouse is determined to follow the map to a place called the Dragon’s Gate, convinced it will explain who she really is and the powers she possesses. Bren has had enough adventure for one lifetime and would like nothing more than to return to his father in Map. But nothing goes according to plan when the survivors of the Albatross are rescued by Lady Jean Barrett, a charismatic archaeologist with a sense of destiny.

Barrett is on a quest for the Eight Immortals, ancient artifacts she believes are buried in the tomb of China’s first emperor—the location of which has been hidden for nearly two thousand years. The only way for Bren, Mouse, and Barrett to all get what they want is to work together on a dangerous journey into the heart of China, a kingdom long closed to outsiders, where the greatest secrets about Mouse and Bren are waiting to be unveiled.

Praise for The Dragon's Gate:

"In his signature style, Wolverton cleverly overlays intricate plotting with ancient Chinese legends and history (including the Dragon Boat Festival and the Terracotta Warriors) and creates a thrilling, fast-paced story that flies by. Fans will wait with bated breath for the third book in the trilogy." -- Kirkus

"More mystical artifacts, wild things, and mysteries more puzzling than ever. This second installment picks up right where The Vanishing Island left off, and fills in enough blanks to remind readers of Bren's last perilous adventure. Pick this up to keep readers on the hook for the upcoming third book."-- Booklist


EXCERPT


From Chapter 3: The Silk Road

The series’ new main character, Lady Jean Barrett, has entered the story with a bang — stealing a valuable map. Now she’s in hiding, trying to figure out what the map shows.


     Outside, her horse neighed.

     Barrett hurriedly rolled up the map and stuffed it into her sack, just as she saw the shadow of a stranger fall through the door.


     She had time for one move: grab her clothes or her sword. When she heard a voice—a man’s voice—she went for the sword.


     The man who walked in was slight of build and appeared to be Chinese. He had short dark hair, a trim mustache, and a fuzzy beard that dangled off his chin. He wore a wide-brimmed, black silk hat and a black robe that reminded Barrett of a priest’s, except the robe was cinched with a colorful belt and had a pair of white cranes embroidered on the front. It was obvious from the look on his face that the last thing he expected to find in an abandoned caravansary on the abandoned Silk Road was an armed woman in her underwear.

     “I don’t speak Chinese, but I’m sure you can understand this,” she said, brandishing the sword with the flair of a stage actor.


     The man stopped in his tracks, his eyes going from the silver blade to the scarlet sheath. “The Tamer of Beasts,” he said breathlessly, and then he fell to his knees in front of her.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

I have been writing for children for 20 years, helping create books, documentary television, and online content for Discovery Networks, National Geographic, the Library of Congress, Scholastic, and Time-Life Books, among others. Inspired by authors such as Lewis Carroll and Mark Twain, as well as folk tales and mythology from around the world, I love to combine wordplay and humor with dramatic plots to create rich narrative worlds for readers.

My debut novel, NEVERSINK, was named the Children’s Book of Choice by Literacy Mid-South for their Read Across America program in 2014. The first book in THE VANISHING ISLAND trilogy is available now.

WEBSITE: http://www.barrywolverton.com
TWITTER: @wolvertonhill
GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4934832.Barry_Wolverton
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/wolvertonhill/
INSTAGRAM: @wolvertonhill


Continue to follow the tour here

GIVEAWAY



Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter

- 7 Winner's will Receive a Copy of The Dragon’s Gate (The Chronicles of the Black Tulip #2) by Barry Wolverton

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment